Bag Review: A Closer Look at the Michael Kors Selma Top-Zip Satchel in Luggage

I’ve made my LAST bag purchase for the year – the Michael Kors Selma in Luggage…well technically Hubby purchased it as my anniversary gift – but I definitely had a hand in choosing it!

Large Selma Top-Zip Satchel

The Selma has been on my radar ever since I spotted Noelle’s black version. The simple and classic structure reminds me of 2 other popular and MUCH pricier bags – the Prada Saffiano Tote and the Hermes Birkin.

Celebs with birkins
Selma on the left (Top: Ashley Greene, Botton: Selena Gomez) Birkin on the right (Eva Longoria)

As you can see in the pictures above, the Selma has elements of the Birkin without being a copy – including similar dimensions, a structured, boxy shape and metal feet. With regards to the Prada tote, the Selma features a simple top handle design with a
discreet logo in the front. They are also constructed of the same
material – saffiano leather – a cross-hatched leather that is highly
stain and scratch-resistant.

Choosing My Bag:

At the store, I had a VERY hard time deciding between the Navy and Luggage versions of the Selma – but I don’t think you can blame me…when I shared this picture on Instagram, commenters were ALSO equally divided between the 2 colors!

Although I went for the Large Selma Top-Zip Satchel, I am also in LOVE with all the studded options: the ADORABLE cross-body bag, the North/South version, and the oh-so-chic clutch.

Michael Kors Studded Selma

Michael Kors, MICHAEL Michael Kors

Wearing my Selma Bag:

The Selma is one of my largest handbags, measuring 9″H x 12 1/4″W x 3 1/2″D. Because of its structure and hardware, it’s slightly heavier than my Balenciaga City and Louis Vuitton Neverfull PM – but it’s still completely manageable (I’m not a fan of unnecessarily heavy bags – my back can’t take the strain!). The cross-body strap is a nice touch but I don’t plan on using it too often, as it doesn’t seem like it could support the weight of the bag on a regular basis.

A 360 view of the Selma:

What's in my Michael Kors Selma

The interior of the bag is very spacious, with lots of pockets and a strap attachment for your keys. The lining is a cream material embossed with the MK logo – not my favorite – but since I use a purse organizer, I hardly notice the print. I love the metal feet – it makes it easy to set down without worrying about staining the bottom of the bag. I think the Selma would be a great travel and/or work bag – it’s roomy enough to fit in all the essentials – plus an iPad and water bottle, and the material is sturdy and won’t show wear.

Are you a fan of structured bags? Does the Selma bag remind you of the Prada Saffiano Tote and Hermes Birkin?

Liked this post? Read my other bag reviews here

 

UPDATE:

Spotted this adorable mini-studded version of the Selma during my last visit to the Michael Kors store – it’s pictured next to my Selma for size comparison:

And I’m not the only one in my family adoring Michael Kors’ latest offerings! Here’s my mother’s latest purchase – she got the Weston bag in Luggage (love the tassel detail) and the Fulton wallet with Rose Gold hardware.

 

35 Comments

  1. Gemma
    October 28, 2013 / 4:59 pm

    Oh wow – you have amazing taste!!!!! I LOVE THIS BAG! It's so gorgeous, and this is the colour I would have chosen too, it's a stunner! xxGemma ♥ | Miss Makeup Magpie

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      October 28, 2013 / 8:56 pm

      Thanks – I'm really loving this color – it's such a classic!

  2. Beautygirl24
    October 28, 2013 / 5:36 pm

    I'm so happy you got it! Your review is great too, much more through than I can ever be. This is currently my every day bag. It's perfect for work because I can stuff my large planner inside, yet I still love carrying it on weekends too. It's just such a classic, and I love the saffiano leather.

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      October 28, 2013 / 8:59 pm

      I never noticed how cute it it was until I saw it in your outfit posts! I love that we don't have to worry about damaging the leather!

  3. Melissa
    October 28, 2013 / 7:08 pm

    Oh I LOVE this bag! I want it in the black and navy so bad. The best thing I've found with Michael Kors bags is that lining is pretty much indestructible, my kids have split everything under the sun inside my bag and the lining isn't even stained!

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      October 28, 2013 / 9:01 pm

      It's good to know that the lining holds up. I've seen the colorblock version in stores – they're very popular!

  4. Hannah Ruth
    October 28, 2013 / 8:37 pm

    Lovely bag – I think you picked the best colour! I'm looking out for a new crossbody bag and I love the studded one you pictured 🙂

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      October 28, 2013 / 9:01 pm

      I was SO drawn to the studded cross body one – the shape and size are SOOO perfect – you'll LOVE it!

  5. Kelly F
    October 29, 2013 / 3:25 pm

    I love big bags! I like the one you chose.. it's very classic and a great colour that will go with many outfits!

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      October 31, 2013 / 4:13 am

      Thanks Kelly – the classic color definitely helped me justify getting this bag 😉

  6. Rachelle J
    November 6, 2013 / 6:11 pm

    I love this bag! I got mine in black! It's perfect for all seasons! I usually "baby" most of my bags, but because this purse is made of the saffiano leather, I'm not so conscious about wearing it! It's one of my carefree bags!xo,apurseofherown.blogspot.ca

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      February 27, 2014 / 4:16 am

      Thanks for commenting Rachelle – sorry for the late reply! Yes – the material is sooo durable, mine got a bit scuffed during travel but the stains just wiped right off – amazing 🙂

  7. Anonymous
    November 15, 2013 / 9:16 pm

    Hi, I would like to ask about your scarf – where can I find it, could you give me brand name? I found your blog yesterday and I really like your style :)Thank you for your answer!Natalia

  8. ce
    February 26, 2014 / 4:25 pm

    hi..i love this bag too! planning to get one but indecisive over the color! should i get black, navy or luggage? any suggestions or opinions?

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      February 27, 2014 / 4:15 am

      Hi Ce – to be honest – I love all 3 of the colors you mentioned – they're all classic colors so you can't go wrong with them – they'll go with most outfits. If you're planning on using it as a work bag, I'd choose the black. I like the luggage color because it goes with my more summery outfits 🙂

  9. Pellen T
    March 3, 2014 / 5:09 pm

    OMG this bag is soo my style 😀 is this the large size? How much did it cost?

  10. Sylwia from the sign of design
    March 16, 2014 / 2:59 pm

    Well this bags are wonderful! I bought Selma this week and I'm totally obssesed about this bag:D

  11. Maisha Tamanna
    July 10, 2014 / 2:30 am

    I wanted to buy this bag for school, do you think it'd be able to hold all my notebooks nd folders if i use the messenger strap? And do you think it'd be hard to carry it on my arm with all those books inside?

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      July 10, 2014 / 3:08 am

      It definitely has space to hold all the notebooks – but I recommend trying it on in person, as the strap is on the thinner side and may not be comfortable to use when the bag is full of books. But if you're going to carry it handheld – it should be fine.

  12. Clothes and Creativity
    August 7, 2014 / 12:32 pm

    Hi Ella!That's a lovely bag and I really liked the in-depth review. Just subscribed to your blog.Could you do a review on your LV Speedy 25? I Bought my Speedy 30 in May 2014 and would really like to know how the bag holds up the test time (I've read pretty great reviews online). Also, if you could throw some light on how well the vachetta developed the patina and ways to protect the handle.Cheers!Anya

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      August 8, 2014 / 3:44 am

      Hi Anya – thanks for subscribing to my blog 🙂 Yes – I'll definitely try and do a review post on my Speedy 25, It has held up amazingly well BUT…I'm a bit perplexed with the vachetta…I wanted mine to turn an even dark colour – and I never wanted staining – so I applied Apple Leather Conditioner. I think the Conditioner might have stopped a patina from developing…I know some people like a pale patina but I wish mine would get darker already LOL – I've left mine in the sun but no luck – it's still a light honey!

    • Clothes and Creativity
      August 8, 2014 / 11:25 am

      Thanks for the prompt reply, Ella! Mine is fairly new so there's no patina as such, just that the dust shows rather too well on the light handles. And although I'm paranoid about there being any sort of stain on the handles, I do not think I'll use a conditioner. Let's see how well it develops the patina, even I really love the deep honeydew colour that I see on other LV bags! Looking forward to your review. 🙂

  13. Monica D.
    September 1, 2014 / 6:33 pm

    Your selma bag is it the large version or the medium size?

  14. Monica D.
    September 2, 2014 / 12:06 am

    I am asking you because i have just ordered a selma black and on the label says LG TZ selma satchel and under the barcode NS.i don t Know what it means, so yours is medium or large? What says on yours etichette?

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      September 2, 2014 / 1:56 am

      I'll have to look in my receipt box for the bag label – I'll do that later on today. Will update here with my bag code information once I find it.

  15. Monica D.
    September 2, 2014 / 11:03 pm

    Ok, thank you.hope you ll find it

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      September 3, 2014 / 4:44 am

      I found it – it says LG TZ Satchel Luggage NS.

  16. Monica D.
    September 4, 2014 / 12:19 am

    Thank you very much, so it is like mine Large.it is just that i Was aspecting at something more bigger for a Large size xd

  17. Von
    October 9, 2014 / 10:39 am

    I have this too, totally loving it! <3 Nice blog post btw! (:

  18. Thrifty Londoner
    November 22, 2014 / 10:00 pm

    Lovely, snug and smart xxx

  19. meejung
    November 6, 2015 / 2:37 am

    Is there any way to get rid of scratches on the metal feet?

  20. Anonymous
    January 31, 2016 / 9:06 pm

    Great review, my mom has this in a salmon color and she loves it 🙂 I was just wondering where you purchased your purse organizer.

    • Ella Pretty Blog
      January 31, 2016 / 10:26 pm

      Thanks! I think the brand is called purse-to-go.

  21. Denisa Staňková
    September 23, 2016 / 6:25 am

    Love this bag. Navy or brown? Please help me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *